Camp Oak Openings brochure 1933
Publication
Eight page booklet for the Camp Oak Openings printed with black ink on pale green paper. The cover has an illustration of two winged fairies dancing under a canopy of young trees. Inside, b/w photos show a girl leaping on a beach, four girls riding horses, a group of swimmers, a boat towing an early sort of water skiing called aquaplaning, children in the branches of trees, and a sunset over the lake. The text promises the value and safety of camp experience with snippets of lyrical poems. The back cover lists the directors as Jeanette Thomson, Etta M. Mount and Olive Pierce Haze and lists the Chicago offices at 6305 Kenmore Ave. Chicago.

2021.18.35
A camp that once existed off Old Dug Road. Later site became Pine Trail Camp.
1880 Tourism steamship era -1930Childhood
Winthers, Sally
Progressive education
1933
9 in
6 in
025 Saugatuck Douglas Commercial History
Pine Trail Camp/Camp Oak Openings/Slumber BluffThomson, Jeanette Elvira (Harris) 1862-1956
3525 Dugout Road
03/25/2025
03/25/2025